poplabu.blogg.se

Smith and wesson model 18 barrel
Smith and wesson model 18 barrel








The Smith & Wesson 60 is the first regular production, stainless steel revolver. It was with these shortcomings in mind that I purchased my very first J-Frame – indeed, my first revolver – in the early 2000s. Extreme light weight also makes these guns more difficult to steady at arm’s length, especially when coupled with a 12(+)-pound trigger. They might be fun for a cylinder or two, but you’re not going to be doing many heavy range sessions with them. They recoil heavily and this can turn new shooters off quickly. The short “snub-nose” barrels of these guns don’t help practical accuracy any, either.įinally, the general movement to scandium, aluminum, and other alloys to produce guns that are barely heavier than a book of stamps make J-Frames difficult to shoot, and really difficult to shoot well. The little trench and tiny, un-distinguished front post are abysmal in my estimation, and suited for neither precision nor speed. First, I am not fan of the fixed “sights” on most small revolvers (or complete lack thereof on others).

SMITH AND WESSON MODEL 18 BARREL PRO

Obviously my 640 Pro Series is an exception to this rule, but I usually try to steer others away from small wheelguns. I will freely admit that generally speaking, I am no fan of the Smith & Wesson J-Frame. This is an article about MY first revolver, the Smith & Wesson Model 60-15. But a year later I’m finally getting around to writing the article I started in October of 2016. I got some new ideas and the next thing I knew, was charting its own course. Then I got in touch with Mike Wood to write a review of his book. Wanting to space out reviews of revolvers (because I don’t have many), I pushed this one to the back burner. My friend Aaron (at the ITRH Urban Survival Podcast) wanted to to run my revolver interview much earlier than I had anticipated. Several things happened (mostly at my own doing) that changed this course. This article was planned to be the very first one ran on. shoulder holster.It’s funny how things work. The barrel and cylinder are numbered to the gun. Pate notes several other 2 inch DSC Victory revolvers that are consistent with the markings and features found on this revolver. Army contract (the lack of a top strap marking, the presence of an ordnance flaming bomb on the butt and "P" Army proof test markings on the barrel, cylinder and frame, and correct S&W two-line maker/caliber marking on the left side of the barrel). Pate also states that the revolver has the correct DSC markings as purchased through a U.S. Pate "confidently" states in an accompanying letter the 2 inch barrel on this revolver is original. military small arms author and expert Charles W. Although the factory records could not confirm the barrel length, noted U.S. Locklin was the Chief of Police of Pasadena, Texas, in the 1940s and 1950s, an original charter signer and member of the Pasadena Livestock Show, Fair & Rodeo Association and was a pioneer descendant of the still prominent today Locklin family who settled Pasadena in the 1800s. S&W shipped arms to individual recipients per the DSC's various orders. The DSC was established to ensure a steady flow of industrial materials-small arms and related material, gasoline wool, cotton, silk, timber, etc.-to American factories during WWII. The accompanying factory letter lists this revolver as a Defense Supplies Corporation (DSC) contract revolver with midnight black finish and smooth walnut grips (currently checkered S&W medallion Magna grips, which are numbered to the gun) when shipped on October 18, 1944, and delivered to L.S.








Smith and wesson model 18 barrel